University of Connecticut University of UC Title Fallback Connecticut

Learning Community Oversight

Learning Communities are a strategic initiative at the University of Connecticut* designed to enhance the undergraduate experience of students. Over 200 faculty, staff, and student leaders representing every School and College, as well as a number of programs, volunteer to work with Learning Communities. Our communities are successful because bridges are created by bringing people across campus together to work towards addressing the needs of our students as well as engaging them broadly in the varied opportunities available to them at UConn.

*UConn Academic Vision

Faculty Oversight Board:

The First Year Programs and Learning Communities Faculty Oversight Board  is charged with setting the criteria for courses that satisfy content area and competency requirements for First Year Experience courses; reviewing and approving course proposals for UNIV 1840 and 3820 sections; developing policy for delivering the FYE program; certifying and periodically monitoring courses and instructors for quality assurance purposes; and advising the FYP & LC Office in matters related to program management.

Learning Community Steering Committee:

The purpose of the LC Steering Committee is to bring together representatives from additional key areas across campus to ensure ongoing communication and collaboration, to encourage insight and guidance to enhance our efforts, and to discuss innovative approaches to serve students in cohesive and impactful ways.

Name  Affiliation 
Tracy Anderson Senior Marketing Associate for University Communications
Lauren DiGrazia University Registrar
Melissa Foreman Assistant Director of the Learning Community Program
Hedley Freake Faculty Director of Nutritional Sciences LC, Professor of Nutritional Sciences
Nathan Fuerst Director of Undergraduate Admissions
Kristen Glines Assistant Program Coordinator of the Learning Community Program
Jennifer Griffin Associate Director of Undergraduate Admissions
Jennifer Lease Butts Assistant Vice Provost for Enrichment Programs, Director of the Honors Program
Margaret Malmborg Manager of the Lodewick Visitors Center
Maria D. Martinez CAP Director, McNair Scholars Program Director & Assistant Vice Provost of the Institute for Student Success
Jennifer  Murphy Program Coordinator of the Learning Community Program
David T. Ouimette Executive Director of First Year Programs & Learning Communities
Pamela Schipani Executive Director of Residential Life
Logan Trimble Executive Director of Building Services
Dana Wilder Assistant Vice Provost for Academic Affairs & Diversity
Christine M. Wilson Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs, Director of Student Activities